President Edgar Lungu Names New Ministers

President Edgar Lungu Names New Ministers

According to a press release issued by Amos Chanda, the special assistant to the president, his Excellency Mr. Edgar Chagwa Lungu has appointed Hon.Steven Kampyongo and Hon.Greyford Monde as Cabinet Ministers and Chawama MP, Hon. Lawrence Sichalwe as Deputy Minister in the Office of the Vice President.

President Lungu also assigned Her Honour the Vice-President, Mrs Inonge Wina as Minister for National Planning in addition to her current portfolio.

Mr. Kampyongo is the new minister of Local Government and Housing taking over from Dr.John Phiri who moves to the Ministry of General Education. Hon.Monde is the new Minister for Fisheries and Livestock.

The Head of State has assigned Hon. Christopher Yaluma as Minister of Mines and Minerals Development. The ministers for Energy and Water Development and for Communications and Transport will be named in due time. Hon. Yamfwa Mukanga remains as Minister for Works and Supply. Hon. Michael Kaingu has been assigned the new Ministry of Higher Education.

The new appointess: Hon. Kampyongo, Hon. Monde and Hon. Sichalwe will be sworn-in on Thursday, October 8 2015.

The changes are with immediate effect.